Department of ophthalmology IGMC SHIMLA

Department of ophthalmology was established in 1969 at IGMC SHIMLA while this medical college came in existence in 1966. Dr B .S. Jain took the charge of first head of ophthalmology in OCT 1969. This was followed by Dr G. C Sood in 1971 . In 1973 Dr B .K. Sofat became head of department and continued his term till 1990. During his tenure diploma in ophthalmology was started in 1981 by admitting two students each year . M.S. Ophthalmology courses started in IGMC SHIMLA in 1984 with two admissions every year. The first batch of M.S. student passed out in 1987. Dr B.K. Goel took over as Head of department in 1990 and remained head till 1995 then Dr V. Bansal took over as head of department till 2003. From 2003 Dr K.P

Chaudhary remained head of department till Oct 2016. The no. of M.S Ophthalmology seats were increased from 2 to 4 per year in 2010. Dr RL Sharma was appointed Nodal officer eye bank IGMC Shimla in 2008 following which Eye bank was started on 29.08.2010 with its first landmark by performing its first successful corneal transplantation in the state of HP on Jan 8, 2011. Dr M. L Pandey became HOD in Nov 2016 and remained HOD till August 2018. Dr RL Sharma took over as HOD in Sept 2018, who is the present head the Department .

Facilities of Phacoemulsification became available in IGMC SHIMLA since 2006 which was further boosted by installation of second machine in 2014. Phacoemulsification with micro incision cataract surgery started in Dec 2017. So state of art surgery with premium IOL implantation is done in department of ophthalmology IGMC SHIMLA without any waiting list.

Other ocular and paraocular surgeries like glaucoma surgeries (trabeculectomy, glaucoma valve implantation, laser Iridotomy are routinely done. oculoplastic surgeries like lid reconstruction, Ptosis, Ectropion ,Entropion are routinely carried out. Orbital surgeries like exentration, orbitotomy and orbital reconstruction surgeries are also performed in collaboration with orofacial surgeons, neurosurgeon. Dacrocystorhinostomy (external and endonasal) are done in collaboration with ENT surgeons.

Eye banking services and penetrating and lamellar Keratoplasty are done for corneal blind patients. Eye bank has carried out about 350 Keratoplasty so far. Facilities for posterior segment evaluation like B scan, fundus camera are available since 2008.

Posterior segment laser facility is available in department since 2008 for diabetic retinopathy and other disorders and now posterior segment surgeries were also started in 2024. OCT, ERG, EOG AND VEP like advanced facilities are also available in department since 2016 .Specular microscopy machine was installed in department in 2017. Automated perimeter and NCT for glaucoma diagnosis is also available in the department. Laser indirect ophthalmoscopy machine was installed in 2019 to treat premature babies suffering from ROP.

Dept has organized North Zone Ophthalmology Conferences in 1990, 1995, 2000, and 2017. State Ophthalmology Conferences of HP were organized in 2011, 2016 and 2023. CME and Workshops are periodically done for different academic activities in the department. The research papaers are periodically presented at national and international conferences every year by faculty and post graduate students. Eye donation fortnight is celebrated every year from 25th aug till 8th september for awareness regrding eye donation. World sight day is celebrated on 10th October annually. National Glaucoma awareness week is celebrated every year in march.

4 postgraduate students are enrolled every year and there are a total of 12 postgraduate students in the department. Till date a total of 90 PG students and 50 MBBS batches have passed out. The department has published more than 200 international and national papers during this period.

Eye department also carries out social work like surgical camps, screening camps, public health awareness, TV talks and shows periodically. Department is continuously is in process of procuring latest machineries and facilities for the benefit of people of the state.

Year	Facility	Remarks
1966	Medical college established	
1969	Eye department established	Prof& Head Dr B .S. Jain
1981	Diploma Ophthalmology started	Prof& Head Dr B .K. Sofat
1986	First IOL implantation	Prof& Head Dr B .K. Sofat

1987	MS Ophthalmology (Postgraduation) started	Prof& Head Dr B .K. Sofat
1991	Fundus Fluorescent Angiography	Prof& Head Dr B.K. Goel
2001	Nd YAG Laser Capsulotomy	Prof& Head Dr V. Bansal
2005	Phacoemulsification	Prof& Head Dr K P Chaudhary
2008	Posterior segment Laser & Automated Perimetry	Prof& Head Dr K P Chaudhary
2010	Establishment of Eye Bank	Prof& Head Dr K P Chaudhary
	Photoslit lamp, Specular microscope	
2015	OCT,VEP,ERG,Pachymetry	Prof& Head Dr K P Chaudhary
2016	Pascal Laser	Prof& Head Dr M L Pandey
2017	Advanced Phacoemulsification	Prof& Head Dr M L Pandey
2018	Indirect Laser Ophthalmoscopy	Prof& Head Dr R L Sharma
2019	Viterectomy machine	Prof& Head Dr R L Sharma



North Zone Ophthalmology Conference & Himachal Pradesh Ophthalmology Soceity Establishment 2001



Inauguration of Eye Bank 2010



Department of Ophthalmology (Golden Jubilee IGMC 2016)



NZOS Conference 2017



Celebration of Eye Donatiopn Fortnight 2019